Can a player make a stroke while their ball is in temporary water?

Prepare for the PGA Associate PGM Qualifying Level Test with our comprehensive study resources, featuring flashcards, multiple-choice questions, and detailed explanations. Master your exam now!

The rules of golf clearly state that a player is not permitted to make a stroke while their ball is in temporary water, which is also referred to as casual water. Temporary water is defined as any temporary ponding of water on the course that interferes with the player's stance or swing.

Making a stroke under these conditions could lead to an unfair advantage, as hitting a ball from water could affect the ball’s behavior significantly and does not adhere to the standard playing conditions expected during a round of golf. Therefore, the rules necessitate that if a ball is in temporary water, the player should either wait for the conditions to improve or take appropriate relief under the rules.

This is why the correct choice emphasizes that striking the ball while it is in temporary water is not allowed and would violate the regulations of the game. The alternatives provided imply either making exceptions or conditions that do not align with the rules of play, which is why they would not be accurate in this context.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy