Can a player touch the sand with their club while making a stroke in a bunker?

Prepare for the PGA Associate PGM Qualifying Level Test with our comprehensive study resources, featuring flashcards, multiple-choice questions, and detailed explanations. Master your exam now!

A player cannot touch the sand with their club while making a stroke in a bunker because doing so incurs a penalty under the Rules of Golf. When a player is preparing to make a stroke in a bunker, the rules are designed to maintain a level playing field and to prevent any unfair advantage that could result from disturbing the sand in the process. Touching the sand prior to the stroke may provide information about the condition of the sand, potentially influencing the outcome of the shot unfairly.

In general, the rules prohibit touching the sand with the club during the backswing of the stroke to ensure that players do not test the condition of the sand or make adjustments that could affect the ball's lie. This maintains consistent play across all competitors, ensuring that no player can gain an advantage by modifying the conditions of the bunker.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy