What does Rule 8.1a9 state about a player who flattens a ridge of turf to hit from a divot?

Prepare for the PGA Associate PGM Qualifying Level Test with our comprehensive study resources, featuring flashcards, multiple-choice questions, and detailed explanations. Master your exam now!

Rule 8.1a9 addresses the situation wherein a player modifies the turf by flattening a ridge to improve their lie. This rule indicates that at the moment a player intentionally alters the condition of the area affecting their stroke, such as tamping down a ridge of turf, they are indeed improving the conditions affecting their stroke. The fundamental principle of this rule is that players must not take actions that modify the playing conditions in ways that could enhance their chances of making a successful stroke. By flattening the ridge, the player is violating this principle, as the alteration directly impacts how the ball will sit and how the stroke will be executed. Hence, it acknowledges that this action is against the rules of play, which leads to the correct identification of the player's action as improving the conditions affecting their stroke.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy