What happens if a player lightly grounds their club before hitting the ball?

Prepare for the PGA Associate PGM Qualifying Level Test with our comprehensive study resources, featuring flashcards, multiple-choice questions, and detailed explanations. Master your exam now!

Lightly grounding a club before hitting the ball is generally allowed without penalty. This action is often seen when a player is taking their stance or preparing to execute a shot. As long as the player does not cause their club to move the ball or disturb the area where the ball lies, there are typically no penalties associated with this action.

The rules of golf permit players to ground their club in any area of the course except in specific situations such as when the ball is in a hazard or bunker, or when the player is in a position requiring caution to avoid penalties for other infractions. Therefore, lightly grounding the club during normal play can be part of the player's routine and is considered acceptable.

Other choices present circumstances that do not align with the regulations established by the governing bodies of golf regarding the grounding of the club. For instance, penalties are imposed only under certain conditions, such as grounding the club in a hazard or causing the ball to move. Thus, lightly grounding the club in regular play is permissible and does not warrant a penalty.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy