When a ball is on grass or soil inside a bunker without touching sand, what is the status of the ball?

Prepare for the PGA Associate PGM Qualifying Level Test with our comprehensive study resources, featuring flashcards, multiple-choice questions, and detailed explanations. Master your exam now!

When a ball is on grass or soil inside a bunker without touching the sand, it is considered outside the hazard area. This is because a bunker is defined as a specific area of the course that is made up of sand, and in situations where the ball is resting on grass or soil—often referred to as "the fringe" of the bunker or on an exposed area of the bunker—the ball does not satisfy the criteria of being in the actual sand area of the bunker. Therefore, in this context, the player can treat the ball as if it were outside the bunker, allowing them to take appropriate actions per the rules, such as playing the ball without restrictions associated with bunkers. Understanding this status is crucial for ensuring compliance with the rules of golf and making informed decisions about the next move.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy