Which statement is true regarding a ball in motion striking another ball?

Prepare for the PGA Associate PGM Qualifying Level Test with our comprehensive study resources, featuring flashcards, multiple-choice questions, and detailed explanations. Master your exam now!

When a ball in motion strikes another ball on the putting green, the procedure follows specific guidelines set by the Rules of Golf. The true statement in this context is that strokes are counted separately for both balls, which indicates that there is no penalty involved when a ball in motion strikes another ball on the green.

In such situations, the struck ball is typically just replaced to its original spot, and the player's ball is played from where it lies. Additionally, regardless of whether the first ball struck the second unintentionally or not, there are no penalty strokes involved.

A player does not replay their shot simply because their ball hit another ball, nor does it incur any penalty if the act is not deliberate. The strokes are counted together, and while the rules dictate how to proceed after the incident, they do not apply penalties for accidental striking of another ball on the putting green. Therefore, strokes are counted separately for both balls, which emphasizes the importance of understanding the nuances of the rules governing play.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy